U.S. AI and IoT Legislative Tracking Team

Muftiah McCartin +1 202 662 5510 mmccartin@cov.com
Layth Elhassani +1 202 662 5063 lelhassani@cov.com
Holly Fechner +1 202 662 5475 hfechner@cov.com
Jennifer Johnson +1 202 662 5552 jjohnson@cov.com
Lee Tiedrich +1 202 662 5403 ltiedrich@cov.com
Lindsey Tonsager +1 415 591 7061 ltonsager@cov.com
Hannah Lepow +1 202 662 5477 hlepow@cov.com
Jayne Ponder +1 202 662 5008 jponder@cov.com
B.J. Altvater +1 202 662 5160 baltvater@cov.com
Rebecca Yergin +1 202 662 5935 ryergin@cov.com
Micha Nandaraj Gallo +1 212 841 1216 mnandarajgallo@cov.com
James Yoon +1 202 662 5015 jyoon@cov.com
Follow: Email

In this update, we detail the key legislative developments in the second quarter of 2021 related to artificial intelligence (“AI”), the Internet of Things (“IoT”), connected and automated vehicles (“CAVs”), and federal privacy legislation.  As we recently covered on May 12,  President Biden signed an Executive Order to strengthen the federal government’s ability to respond to and prevent cybersecurity threats, including by removing obstacles to sharing threat information between private sector entities and federal agencies and modernizing federal systems.  On the hill, lawmakers have introduced a number of proposals to regulate AI, IoT, CAVs, and privacy.

Continue Reading U.S. AI, IoT, CAV, and Privacy Legislative Update – Second Quarter 2021

In this update, we detail the key legislative updates in the second quarter of 2020 related to artificial intelligence (“AI”), the Internet of Things (“IoT”), cybersecurity as it relates to AI and IoT, and connected and automated vehicles (“CAVs”). The volume of legislation on these topics has slowed but not ceased, as lawmakers increasingly focus on the pandemic and the upcoming national election. As Congress processes Appropriations bills, it continues to look to support and fund these technologies. We will continue to update you on meaningful developments between these quarterly updates across our blogs.
Continue Reading U.S. AI, IoT, and CAV Legislative Update – Second Quarter 2020

Though it seems like the distant past now, in this update we detail the notable legislative events from the first quarter of 2020 on artificial intelligence (“AI”), the Internet of Things (“IoT”), cybersecurity as it relates to AI and IoT, and connected and autonomous vehicles (“CAVs”). Prior to the slowdown in non-COVID related legislation that accompanied the pandemic during the first quarter, federal and state policymakers continued their focus on AI and IoT, including by introducing substantive bills that would regulate the use of such technology and by supporting bills aimed at further study of how such technology may impact different sectors. And it is important to note that this activity has slowed, not ceased—we will continue to update you on meaningful developments between these quarterly updates across our blogs.
Continue Reading U.S. AI and IoT Legislative Update – First Quarter 2020

U.S. federal policymakers continued to focus on artificial intelligence (“AI”) and the Internet of Things (“IoT”) in the fourth quarter of 2019, including by introducing substantive bills that would regulate the use of such technology and by supporting bills aimed at further study of how such technology may impact different sectors. In our fourth AI & IoT Quarterly Legislative Update, we detail the notable legislative events from this quarter on AI, IoT, cybersecurity as it relates to AI and IoT, and connected and autonomous vehicles (“CAVs”).
Continue Reading U.S. AI and IoT Quarterly Legislative Update: Fourth Quarter 2019

Federal policymakers continued to focus on artificial intelligence (“AI”) and the Internet of Things (“IoT”) in the third quarter of 2019, including by introducing substantive bills that would regulate the use of such technology and by supporting bills aimed at further study of how such technology may impact different sectors. In our third AI & IoT Quarterly Legislative Update, we detail the notable legislative events from this quarter on AI, IoT, cybersecurity as it relates to AI and IoT, and connected and autonomous vehicles (“CAVs”).

Continue Reading AI and IoT Legislative Developments: Third Quarter 2019

Federal and state policymakers continued to focus on artificial intelligence (“AI”) and the Internet of Things (“IoT”) in the second quarter of 2019, including by introducing both substantive measures that would regulate the use of the technology and by supporting funding bills aimed at increasing investment. In our second AI & IoT Quarterly Legislative Update,

Federal and state policymakers introduced a range of new measures on artificial intelligence (“AI”) and the Internet of Things (“IoT”) in the first quarter of 2019. In our initial AI & IoT Quarterly Legislative Update, we detail the notable legislative events from this quarter on AI, IoT, cybersecurity as it relates to AI and IoT, and connected and autonomous vehicles (“CAVs”). Unlike prior years, in which federal lawmakers largely called for studies of these new technologies and supported investments in them, policymakers are increasingly introducing substantive proposals—particularly on AI and cybersecurity, and at the state level.
Continue Reading AI and IoT Legislative Developments: First Quarter 2019